Yuvraj Singh named in T20 World Cup squad

Mangalore Today


New Delhi,August 10,2012, Friday: Yuvraj Singh, who recovered from lung cancer recently, would be part of the World T20 that would take place in September this year in Sri Lanka.




Indian selectors have decided to pick him in the Indian sqaud for T20 World Cup. He made his comeback into the team after the gap of nine months.


Out of favour off-spinner Harbhajan Singh, pacer L Balaji and leg-spinner Piyush Chawla have also made a comeback into the 15-member Twenty20 team which was announced today.


Chawla was suprisingly named in the Test squad, too which would take New Zealand in the 2-match series.


Young Manoj Tiwary, Ashok Dinda have been named in the T20 team.


Out-of-form Rohit Sharma featured in T20 squad but has lost his place in the Test team. His Mumbai team mate Ajinkya Rahane replaced him in the Test squad.


Veteran batsman VVS Laxman, who had a bad Australian tour a few months back, retained his place in the Test team. Lanky paceman Ishant Sharma and middle-order batsman Cheteshwar Pujara, who were out of the Test team due to injury, also made it to the Test team.


MS Dhoni would continue to lead the Indian team in both the formats.


T20 squad: MS Dhoni (capt/wk), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Irfan Pathan, R Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, L Balaji, Piyush Chawla, Harbhajan Singh, Ashok Dinda


Test squad: MS Dhoni (capt/wk), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, VVS Laxman, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Cheteshwar Pujara, Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, R Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, Umesh Yadav, Pragyan Ojha, Piyush Chawla, Ishant Sharma 


| | |

Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above
Disclaimer: Kindly do not post any abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful material or SPAM. SKALONDON.com reserves the right to block/ remove without notice any content received from users.